Tomorrow

Commitment is hard. I watched a video today of a speech Inky Johnson gave in which he said, “Commitment is staying true to what you said you were going to do, long after the mood that you have said it in has left.”

And boy do I have problems with that kind of commitment. Specifically, and solely, that commitment to myself.

More and more frequently I’m starting to notice how mean I am to myself. I think of myself in ways I would never do to another person. And flipping the switch on someone like me overnight just doesn’t work. There is no epiphany or life changing moment where I get all my shit together.

Change takes time. 

So I’m going to start small by establishing my commitments Day to Day. Each day will have 4 commitments: 1 for the health of my body, 1 for the health of my brain, 1 for the health of my faith, and 1 for the health of my future.

Maybe one day I’ll have 40 commitments per week. Maybe not.

But for now, all I’ve got to worry about is tomorrow.

-HH

Leave a Reply

